FAUSTO Y ELENA BURGOS’ HOUSE
These two local writers legated their big house from the beginning of the 20th Century to the city and it includes a 3,000 book library and a varied collection of Incan culture works of art, silver sculptures, musical instruments and graphic works. It is located on Chile with Saavedra Streets. Fausto Burgos was born in Tucumán Province in 1888 and studied in Salta and Catamarca Provinces. He became a teacher and taught for a number of years. He then studied Mathematics in La Plata.
He was always close to the literary publishing books and writing for newspapers. He lived in Jujuy Province until he definitely settled in San Rafael. He had a great spirit of adventure which took him on many journeys but he kept coming back to San Rafael to teach and write.
He writes copiously about cultural attitudes, habits, language peculiarities, names of plants, animals and winds with strict details saving a wide spectrum of folk knowledge.
Make a previous appointment with the owners by calling (0267) 21382.
GENERAL SAN MARTIN PLAZA
French citizen Rodolfo Iselin, one of the main pioneers of San Rafael, donated the land for building this picturesque plaza. The designed was created by engineer Fiorini and it has had the present design since 1925. It has an equestrian monument of San Martin in bronze and a base of stones from the area. General san Martin is seen lifting his right arm and pointing the way that Army of Los Andes followed in order to liberate the peoples of South America from the colonial control of the Spanish Crown.
This piazza was built in order to honor Italian immigrants who through great effort worked to enrich these latitudes. The first locomotive that arrived in San Rafael in 1903 can be appreciated here. The Railway Municipal Museum and the Artisan Market can be found opposite the piazza and behind it respectively.
SAN RAFAEL ARCHANGEL CATHEDRAL
It is located opposite San Martin Plaza at the corner of Belgrano and Pellegrini Streets and was built in neocolonial style starting in 1935 and was finished in 1952. Monsignor Ernesto Vicente de Miguel worked arduously during construction and was the parson from 1941 until 1985. His body rests on the right hand side outer section of the entrance where a block marble stone can be seen. To the right of the Cathedral there is a tower, San Marco, which was donated by the Viñuela Family in 1952.