The San Rafael Archangel Cathedral is located opposite the Plaza San Martin and near the San Marco Tower. It was the main church of the department until his appointment as a cathedral in 1961. It was inaugurated in 1952 and is a colonial and Spanish Renaissance architecture, rococo. thanks to the demands of the population of the city itself was created.
Inside the Church of the Cross of St. Andrew, who was painted by Raúl Landete, whose atelier can be visited at the Villa 25 de Mayo stands. On the left side of the church the place where the remains of Archbishop Monsignor Jesus Roldan and Leon Krauk, both important parish of the Cathedral are observed. Monsignor Oscar also rest there Villena and a plaque of 1 Bishop: Cardinal Raul Francisco Primatesta.
An annex to the activities of the cathedral is the Chapel of Perpetual Adoration, located in Pellegrini 350. It is open 24 hours and thanks to the goodwill of the townspeople, who can register one hour to cover serves through parish office. Another place that depends on the cathedral is the cinerary, place to deposit the ashes of the deceased.
The completion of the cathedral was fueled mostly by Monsignor Ernesto Vicente de Miguel (1911-1996), who was pastor there from 1941 to 1985. His body is buried outside the entrance. The cathedral is located at Belgrano 122, and can be visited every day of the year.